top of page

My Top 3 Must-Do Activities in Thailand

There is probably a million and one things you can do in Thailand, literally. As far as I know, and with just a quick Google search, I have learned there are in excess of 40,000, yes FORTY thousand Buddhist Temples in Thailand alone. And although according to Trip Advisor some of the top activities are to visit Temples, sometimes and I’m sure were not the only ones, Temples are just not our thing. Don’t get me wrong I can appreciate the importance of such temples and their architecture is just outstanding.


Jamie and I did visit some temples, notably the Reclining Buddha in Bangkok and it is spectacular to say the least so be sure to pop along should you be in the locality! However below I have listed my top three must-do activities in terms of their level of ‘fun’, I guess. So here goes….


Snorkelling

By far snorkelling in Koh Tao was my favourite. Koh Tao is one of three major tourist islands situated on the east coast in the Gulf of Thailand, the other two are Koh Phangan and Koh Samui.


If you head to any one of these islands you will see dozens of snorkelling/diving tours on offer. The diving was a little expensive therefore we opted for the snorkelling only. We got a great deal for the snorkelling so we were absolutely chuffed! For just 500baht per person (c. €12.50) we got the full package, transport, gear rental to include snorkel mask/mouth piece, lunch and plenty teas and coffees. You can read more on this day trip in my post ‘Making our way to the islands, first stop…….Koh Tao’ here.


Defintely do either the diving or snorkelling it was by far my favourite activity! I certainly gave it the thumbs up anyway! >>>



Chiang Mai 2 day/1 night


I was a little anxious before the trek, however people were raving about it suggesting it left right and centre so I thought to hell with it, let’s do it! We’ll call it an ‘experience’ and what an experience it was. Now, the heat was something else altogether in and around 30 degrees and if you’re partial to a little heat perhaps it’s not for you. However, I am certainly not in any way fit so if I managed it then definitely just do it! You will not regret it.


The village we trekked to was that of our guide’s Mr Pho. They have no electricity yet we had one of the nicest meals of SE Asia without a shadow of a doubt! It was incredible, a chicken curry with rice and roast vegetables. It was delicious! More details on this can be found on my ‘Northern Thailand’ blog post here.






Cooking Class

If you’re a foodie (like Jamie & I) definitely consider joining in on a cooking class. Not only do you learn to cook some of the Thai’s most delicious of meals you also get to eat what you make. This is normally across the board with cooking classes not necessarily the one we chose.

We firstly visited the market where we picked up some ingredients for the class and from there to the kitchen. We were then divided in to groups, according to the dishes we decided to cook and from there we were assigned to a stove and continued to cook our dishes. It was just lovely! We chose a company called The Thai Kitchen Centre, they can be found online here; http://www.thaikitchencentre.com/. They will even pick you up from your hotel which is a real bonus but very common for tours in SE Asia.



If you've any queries guys please pop me a comment below or via the contact form here and I'll be back to you as soon as possible!



SEARCH BY TAGS:

FOLLOW ME ALSO ON:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

POP ME A COMMENT BELOW AND I'LL BE BACK ASAP

bottom of page