top of page

10 Essential Items For Travel In South East Asia

I know a lot of people consider packing to be the bane of one’s life, but it doesn’t need to be. In fact, I often disliked un-packing more than I did packing. That in line with the reality of being ‘back to normal’ always turned me off having to unpack!


But it doesn’t (and isn’t) that hard, at all. So listed below are the ten items I consider essential for travelling in this wonderful part of the world and I hope it will help you with packing for the trip of a lifetime…


(1) Backpack

Firstly, I would advise you to go out and buy yourself a good ‘Backpack’. We happened to have one at home so I didn’t need to buy one but the brand of bag I did use was ‘Outdoor Gear’ which is similar to this one here.


This one is retailing on sale for £38 on Amazon (€48/$78 AUS). I wouldn’t go above and beyond with how much you spend on your backpack, in the end if it’s going to rip it’ll rip, you’ll be sure to pick one up no bother in Asia for next to nothing (although I’ve heard they are very likely to rip, as they’re generally knock off brands!).


(2) Packing Cubes

So item number two and something I would highly recommend are ‘Packing Cubes’. They are basically small little bags to organise your gear within your big backpack which are so handy when looking for an item. I bought a set off Ebay (from China) for just £5.98 with FREE delivery (€7.77/$12.27). How cheap! I ordered mine about 3 weeks in advance and I was very lucky to receive them the Friday before we left on Monday so that was cutting it fine!


Similar packing bags can be found here.


(3) Next up….Shoes!

I brought three pairs, although I would have been okay with just two. Bring a comfortable pair of shoes, by comfortable I don’t mean go out and buy an expensive pair of walking boots/shoes that could set you back quite a lot. I’m talking Converse. I would also recommend a pair of flip flops, you will never wear flip flops as much as you do in South East Asia. From walking around in the heat to using shared bathrooms in hostels, you’ll live in them. Trust me. I brought one pair with me and bought two others there. I think I bought one pair in Vietnam for like $1 (USD)!


I did bring another pair of just plain Nike runners but I rarely wore them to be honest. In fact the most use I did get from them was the little bit of running Jamie and I did when we arrived in Melbourne!


(4) Clothes

I know clothes seem like an essential item but honestly it didn't make the top of the list. The amount of people that advised me to just go with an empty suitcase was just crazy. You can pick up clothes in South East Asia for next to nothing. However, if you want to pack a few bits ‘just in case’ like I did, I would recommend the following;

1 t-shirt, 1 jumper, 1 pair of jeans, 1 pairs of shorts, 1 long pants, 1 long sleeve top, 1 hat and swim wear. I would recommend bringing your own underwear though, not to have to look for your own size in Asian sizes. Bear in mind, us Westerners are a little larger (and wider) than most of them!


(5) Good Smartphone

Let’s be honest who doesn’t love Wi-Fi? And who doesn’t love Free Wi-Fi even more? Believe me when I say, nowhere does Wi-Fi as good as the Asian countries. As hard as it is to believe the Wi-Fi is much better and cheaper(!) than any I’ve ever experienced. So it’s important to have a good phone to be able to connect to Wi-Fi and keep in touch with those at home. No harm either having a good phone so that you can download some podcasts to get you through some of the night buses!


(6) Medicine

I would recommend having a good supply of medicines with you. With the change in foods and the culture shock itself you may feel, let’s just say, a little ‘off’ and it’s best to have a small stash with you not to be feeling unwell and having to first find a pharmacy and secondly explain your complaint to the ever so friendly South East Asians! We went to the doctor for our injections before we went and we were advised on what medicines to bring along.


(7) Coat

May seem like an odd one, as you’re heading to the land of heat and sweat however some of the northern parts of Vietnam, namely Sapa, can be quite cold and wet so best to be ‘looking at it, than looking for it’. I bought a very cheap ‘Down Feather’ coat with a small hood from Penneys/Primark in Cork city before we left for around €30 and I was delighted with it. Mainly, because it folds away so very small in to my luggage and it’s very warm.


I found a very similar one on ebay here.


(8) Insect Repellent

Do NOT forget this. I was absolutely eaten alive by mosquitoes and the only thing I found really helped was a repellent with 100% DEET. Once applied properly there was no fear I was going to get bitten! The everyday repellent can be found in many stores like Boots etc. but they generally only contain 50% DEET. However I managed to find one in an Outdoor Shop in Cork city for about €12 I think. I coldn't find it in Thailand/Vietnam so best to stock up before you go. We spent 10 weeks in S.E. Asia and two bottles/each was plenty.


(9) Ear Plugs

So, so, so handy. Be them for the nights when there seems to be a party LITERALLY going on right outside your bedroom window or for when you’re on board a flight and the person sitting next to you *cough cough – Jamie!* is snoring! They’re really handy!


(10) Lonely Planet Guide Book

I’m a firm believer of going ‘off the beaten track’ and all that but if you’re new to travelling I cannot recommend enough getting yourself one of these books. They are just so damn handy! There are lots to choose from too so it’s best to buy the one most suited to your travel itinerary. I got mine online from The Book Depository as they are a lot cheaper than the ones in the shops. Some of them up to 50% cheaper than the shop prices. $$$ More money for the trip eh!


The Book Depository can be found online here.


So that’s it folks, my essential items for travel in South East Asia. Be sure to share with your friends if you think they might be interested and get in contact here if you’ve any questions!




SEARCH BY TAGS:

FOLLOW ME ALSO ON:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

POP ME A COMMENT BELOW AND I'LL BE BACK ASAP

bottom of page