top of page

What Does Travel Mean To You?

I’ve thought of this question for some time, I guess since my boyfriend and I first toyed with the idea of travelling. We had looked forward to ‘just going’ for so long and what we both wanted more than anything was to be free. That’s it; freedom, freedom is what travel means to us both more than anything. We spent just short of 3 months in South East Asia and the freedom you feel is just something incredible. In turn, you begin to learn things, each and every day about yourself, your other half and different cultures of those different parts of the world. The freedom and education we both have experienced is far beyond what we both thought was even possible.


So ‘what does travel mean’ to other like-minded travellers? Well you’re in luck because I have teamed up with some of my favourite and all time inspirational bloggers, some I have known a little longer than others but each are as inspiring at the last.


First up is a piece by a very close friend of mine, whom I went to college with (all those years ago!),

Sinead of This Crow Flies

For me, the meaning of travel is never really one set thing - it is ever changing, always evolving. During the last few years, travel has meant different things to me, at different times and that is what I love about it, it is so unpredictable! The adventure, the curiosity, the challenge, the people, the places, the new experiences, the learning curve, the appreciation for life, the ability to be whoever I want to be…the list goes on.


In the past it has meant freedom and escape, the freedom to explore and make my own decisions all the while escaping a pretty low point in my life (I felt trapped in a toxic work situation which, on paper, was where I was supposed to be after Uni, but it just didn’t feel right and travelling made me understand and most importantly, accept that fact). I sometimes refer to travelling as running away, but not in the negative sense, in an exciting, adventurous way that reignites that child-like curiosity within! That moment your foot hits the ground and you are surrounded by the honking of horns, the scents of spices, the languages you can’t decipher, it’s bewitching! Travel is a challenge and this has always kept me hooked and always will.


For instance, this time last year I didn't think I would successfully travel solo across a huge chunk of Asia (China, Myanmar, India, Indonesia, The Philippines etc.) all the while maintaining a long distance relationship with my boyfriend back home in Ireland - but I did and I wouldn’t change it for the world (ok, maybe the Delhi belly!) - if anything it has made us stronger! Travel has this amazing power, to mean so many different things to so many different people and that’s what keeps it interesting and keeps me coming back for more!”


Catch up on Sinead’s ever changing travel plans over on her site: https://thiscrowflies.wordpress.com/

Next up is Stevie of Stevie on the Move

Stevie is an ultra-low budget traveller, adventure seeker and embracer of the unknown.


For me travelling is trading comfort for heart-warming cross-cultural experiences. I constantly leave the comfort zone of my safe harbour and throw myself out in the unpredictable adventures that await me on the road. The reward is adventurous moments that take my breath away and lovely encounters of generosity.


I'm a very curious person and I love the unknown. That's why I travel to places we know nothing about, just like when I was hitchhiking through Kurdistan in Iraq or when I was tandem cycling across the Pamir mountains in Tajikistan.


One of my favourite travel quotes is: The use of travelling is to regulate imagination by reality, and instead of thinking how things may be, to see them as they are.


So I travel because I am deeply interested in the country, the culture and the people I am visiting. And to really get to know the people of a foreign country you have to integrate yourself in their culture. That's why I travel slow, one country after the other, learn the language and use hitchhiking. But the best thing about hitchhiking is that you never know where the road takes you and sometimes you will end up in the most beautiful village in the middle of nowhere and then you get invited by locals to stay with them and experience their culture at its best.


Very important to me is to travel in a socially and environmentally responsible manner and to give back when travelling. I like to say sharing is caring, so I'm always happy to share the stories from my adventures, my food and my happiness with others and never hesitate to offer a helping hand.

So basically it's all about enjoying life to the fullest in every single moment and still being aware of yourself and your surroundings. To know where you go you need a goal, but no plan. I listen to my gut feeling and go where it feels good for me.

Find out where Stevie is at the moment over on his blog site at: http://stevieonthemove.com/

Next up are the lovely Gen & Mari of Passport to PhD!

Gen and Mari are two American friends who recently studied abroad in Europe for their PhDs. Despite their cramped schedules and modest student salaries, they made it one of their priorities to continue exploring the world! They now write about their PhD experiences and travels on their blog: passporttophd.wordpress.com


Travel means freedom. It is easy to forget that being able to jump from country to country and take in all that another culture has to offer is a privilege. Maybe it's because we both enjoy learning, but being able to travel while studying was like icing on the cake. Throughout our journeys, we have learned so much not only about ourselves, but of the kindness of strangers and about the important things in life.The positive learning experiences from traveling greatly apply to being a student, especially a PhD student. Learning how to adjust to new environments, think creatively, and persevere when things don’t go your way can definitely be applied to both traveling and researching, and all can lead to successful goals, whether they be an enjoyable trip or graduating with a degree. More than anything, traveling expands your perspective, making you a more confident and independent person (with friends all over the world), which has a great influence in all aspects of life!


How inspiring are they to study and travel at once? Read more about them on their site: passporttophd.wordpress.com

Lucy & Sam of Wandering Beer Society are two bored thirtysomethings who got fed up with their jobs and where they lived, so put the money together to pack it all in and go travelling.


To Lucy travel means being able to visit countries, meet new people and see new sights without the constraints of a normal life. I love travelling and it’s all I’ve ever wanted to do from an early age. Whilst my friends were focused on building careers and having families I worked to earn money to visit new countries. Many people have said how lucky I am to be able to do this and in ways I am. I’m lucky I met Sam who shared the same dream as me but it can also take a lot of hard work and often you have to be really brave. We sold our home and quit our jobs in order to travel full time but the rewards from doing this have been infinite and it was a decision I know I’ll never regret.


And to Sam travel means being free of the baggage that comes with a static life. I am conscious of getting in a rut of doing the same things over and over again, and find that enjoying ‘everything in moderation’ is much easier on the road. Being away full time means I’m not constantly being a tourist, and have time to also work, read and relax, all at my own pace. And as hard as living out of a rucksack is I find being away from the clutter of home a surprisingly liberating experience. Travel means freedom and time spent mostly on my own terms. (It’s also a good excuse to eat and drink out a lot.)


Read more about these ever-inspiring wanderers over on their site: http://www.wanderingbeersociety.com/

Next up is the splendid Katarina from Pathismygoal

"I travel to live. Since childhood I have needed a certain level of adrenaline for which I am getting quite addicted. And traveling gives me this in sufficient quantity, because I often look for situations and places that are interesting, shocking and sometimes dangerous. If I feel that I need to spend time in a quiet location, almost always some shocking and dangerous situations find me. Maybe it's my destiny.


Traveling gives me freedom. When I'm on the journey I feel the life in me. I love the emotions when the plane lands and I am in a new country where I've never been before and I know that some new adventure awaits me which I will survive or maybe not. Fortunately, I always succeeded so far. Traveling is life. Traveling is about the situations, it is about people I meet, about places I see and about moments that I will never forget and will always remember. Our lives are too short to waste them, but they are long enough to fully enjoy them. This can be achieved through traveling and discovering the world around us."


What a beautiful piece, find more details of Katarina’s journery over at: http://www.pathismygoal.com/

Last but by no means least, is the stunning Melissa of According to Perri

Melissa is a Toronto-based sports communications professional with a love for travel and local adventure. She's an amateur photographer, epic map reader and list maker who documents her experiences on her blog, According to Perri. 16 countries and counting!


Plain and simple: travel is enrichment. Packing up and jumping on an airplane for days or weeks at a time gives us all an opportunity to learn just as much about ourselves as it does the places we visit and people we meet. Whether I'm alone, with family or with friends, I have a chance to explore, learn and reflect on my experiences and take them back home to my everyday routine. Travel makes for the best stories, and of course, the best photos.


Check out some Melissa site over at http://accordingtoperri.com/ for more fabulous pieces like the above!

So that’s it folks (for now!) 'What Does Travel Mean to You' brought to you by A Spoonful Of Travel in collaboration with some of my favourite travel bloggers!

I'd be only too delighted if you left a comment below also! :*

SEARCH BY TAGS:

FOLLOW ME ALSO ON:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

POP ME A COMMENT BELOW AND I'LL BE BACK ASAP

bottom of page