top of page

Fitness

So I’ve decided it’s time to get my a** in gear and improve my fitness regime. In saying that, it was pretty non-existent there for a while. When Jamie & I first arrived we did a good bit of running to try get ourselves back in shape after our spell in South East Asia however that quickly fizzled out when we both found work.


At 26, I am finally realising just how important it really is to keep fit and active. Not necessarily just to keep in shape but to be active and get the heart rate pumping I guess!


The fitness craze that has swept over us these past few years I have adamantly avoided. I mean I did do a little bit here and there, bit of running, some swimming and the gym every now and then but I never, ever, stuck to it and I really wished I had! So what is it that didn’t keep me interested and motivated?


With the nights getting darker here at this time of the year, it can be hard to get out and run the roads after coming from work. Therefore having chatted with a colleague of mine about getting fit she mentioned about a gym she goes to which is literally across the road from work; South Pacific Health Club. So I made some enquiries and I popped over for a quick look. The main thing I was looking to do was to join in on some of their classes, some of which take place during lunch hours which I thought was perfect. With a full hour for lunch I often find myself trying to find something to do so I thought it would be a good idea. I called back over to them earlier this week and spoke with Jack, a personal trainer, who was really easy to talk to and ran through exactly what I wanted to achieve from joining the gym.



To be honest I am little nervous, I was quite active in my teens, I played Camogie and Gaelic Football but as school drew to a close I didn’t keep them up. In turn I joined a gym and to be fair I was committed to swimming a couple of times a week with my mother however after a while it became more like a chore and again I stopped going.


I’ll be honest since I left home, just a little over 6 months ago now; I’ve put on a lot of weight. And I mean A LOT… I have gained a whole 11kg! I actually cannot believe it. I had noticed it but I never thought it would have been that much. So I do have a few goals I would like to achieve:


  1. To tone up on my stomach and legs – that 11kg sure hit just one or two parts of the body

  2. General all round fitness - I really shouldn’t be that tired after climbing the stairs

  3. I want to make fitness part of my routine – basically I want in for a long time

  4. I also want to become stronger


So if you’d like to watch me on this new venture of mine be sure to check in, I’ll be writing posts on the blog every fortnight and will update other social media platforms more frequently – Instagram, FB & Twitter. If you’d like more information on South Pacific Health Club check out their website here. I will be as honest and open as possible and I hope you enjoy it as much as I hope to! :)


Chat soon

Jean

SEARCH BY TAGS:

FOLLOW ME ALSO ON:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

POP ME A COMMENT BELOW AND I'LL BE BACK ASAP

bottom of page