top of page

Fitness Update One - Summary, Diet & More

So here I am, I made it out of week 2! ALIVE! It was a difficult (but fun) fortnight at South Pacific Health Club. So how have I been getting on?


I wanted to see how the first two weeks went before I posted any updates on the topic and I am delighted I made it out in one piece, well sort of!


SUMMARY:

As you guys know, I decided to join a gym close to work called South Pacific Health Club in Melbourne City Centre to introduce myself (once again!) to the wonders of fitness!


I initially met with a personal trainer, Jack, at the club and we ran through what exactly I wanted t achieve from joining the gym and what my goals were. I made another appointment with Jack whereby we ran through a few different exercises; squats, push-ups and TRX pull ups. That session was on a Thursday and by Sunday I was still in bits, my arms, my legs, pretty much everywhere actually. IN. BITS.


As mentioned in my first post, the idea was more to join in on classes rather than personal training therefore I will continue attending as many classes I can as they are included in the price I am paying. A full list of the classes can be found here.


CHALLENGES:

The biggest challenge I faced was certainly the stiffness after the session with the personal trainer. It lasted a lot longer than I thought it would as my body really wasn’t used to it! I walk around a lot at work, with keeping the office generally tidy and with a large set of stairs it really proves difficult. I swear if anyone was looking, they would’ve just laughed at me! It was funny, in a way, I guess.


ADVANTAGES:

It is a little early just yet to be seeing many advantages however I am delighted with the feeling of having just been to the gym, you know that unusual tiredness, yet that little bit of pride for going and taking part. I have been keeping an eye on the scales too, not sure if it is because of the gym and/or the fact I cut down on my portions but I am seeing a little difference already would you believe!


DIET:

I haven’t made any major changes to my diet, of yet, (rather reducing my portion sizes) however I had started about 6-8 weeks ago or so making overnight oats. To be honest, the main reason I did this was more for the ease in the mornings, rather than having to make breakfast from scratch, I just open the fridge and my breakfast is waiting for me. I think I will do a separate post on the ingredients I use for these, they’re so easy to make and sooooo yummy! I guess anything with a drizzle of maple syrup over the top is yummy!


A typical breakfast, overnight oats and apple and a drizzle of maple syrup!


GYM CLASSES

Although, I think working with a personal trainer is (probably) more beneficial, unfortunately I am not in a financial position to keep these up as they are in addition to the membership I am already paying. I am however attending some classes at the gym which run over lunchtime, which I mentioned in my last post and they are so much fun. The one I have attended the most is the Reformer Pilates and although it is a tough workout it’s so worth it, you genuinely feel like you’re using every muscle in your body. How bad eh! So for now, it’s gym classes and a healthier diet for me!


<<<< Post Gym Selfie - don't let the smile fool you!


WARDROBE:

Finally, who doesn’t love a whole new fitness wardrobe. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve gone out and purchased new gym gear with the highest of intentions only to see them gathering dust in my wardrobe. Yes, dust! However, with paying fortnightly for the gym, I am committed so I went and purchased a few bits from AMART. I had already picked up shorts, running pants and a top from Aldi a couple of months ago, at such a good price, so I was pretty much sorted anyway. However I picked up another top and sports bra from AMART too!


And that’s it for this week’s check in! All in all, having a super time so far and I hope to join in on some other classes too so stay tuned for more updates!


SEARCH BY TAGS:

FOLLOW ME ALSO ON:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

POP ME A COMMENT BELOW AND I'LL BE BACK ASAP

bottom of page