top of page

Afternoon Tea with Madame Brussels

There’s something very elegant about Afternoon Tea, sometimes referred to as High Tea, and for a long time I have wanted to do it. That’s just what we did of a Sunday afternoon over the weekend in Melbourne.


With a quick Google search we were soon on our way to one of the top rated Afternoon Tea Venues in Melbourne; Madame Brussels. And no, I don’t mean the well-known brothel proprietor of the early 20th Century, I mean the pastel coloured and garden furniture filled rooftop bar in Melbourne city. Rated as one of the top ten Afternoon Teas in Melbourne we were not disappointed.


The entrance is a little deceiving and in fact miss-able as we quite literally walked by and around the block bypassing the small little entrance to the third floor bar. Although there is a lift to the bar, they recommend not using it as it, according to them, ‘regularly breaks down and takes over an hour for the guy to come fix it’, seeing that we gladly took the stairs and we were delighted with what we were met with. The staff are dressed in old-fashioned tennis gear, quite similar to those attending and participating Wimbledon Tennis Tournament, with white pleated skirts/shorts and white vest and shoes.


Although you actually need to book in advance for the afternoon tea, we did sit down to some tea and cake in the afternoon so voila, afternoon we did and afternoon tea we had! Just look at the little tray I received my tea on, and that little cupcake was only to die for! Mmmmmm, I’m a sucker for butter icing spread on…. well anything, I guess but it’s quite literally the icing on the cake when slathered over a softy and creamy little cupcake!


Jamie actually opted for a cocktail and baguette but I guess to each their own! I ordered an English breakfast tea, and was quite surprised to taste a little floral-ness to it, however when I double checked with the waitress she kindly informed me that the T2 English Breakfast Tea does in fact have a floral infusion, which was actually quite nice


Jamie and I were delighted with our find in Madame Brussels and would certainly recommend to locals and visitors alike. Just be sure not to miss the entrance like we did, and be prepared for some flights of steps!




SEARCH BY TAGS:

FOLLOW ME ALSO ON:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

POP ME A COMMENT BELOW AND I'LL BE BACK ASAP

bottom of page