top of page

Exploring The Mornington Peninsula

What a lovely weekend we’ve had so far, it was Jamie’s birthday during the week and as a surprise I arranged a mini-break for the two of us this weekend. We both took Friday off and I only told him in the early hours that morning. He loves nothing more than having a day off!


So, we made our way to the city and had breakfast in a little spot you may have heard me mention before called Spiga, which is located in Melbourne Central Shopping Centre. From here our rental car was located just around the corner on A’Beckett Street.


The drive to our hotel was around 75 minutes’ drive away and it really is quite a simple drive, I quite enjoyed it! I booked a night’s accommodation in a studio at the Best Western Plus Brooklands of Mornington, a lovely hotel in the town of Mornington. I was very happy with the hotel, the staff were nice and the room was just lovely. The only thing I did not like, which a lot of hotels tend to fall short on, is when you book a double room and instead you get a room with two single beds pushed together! It’s literally one of my pet peeves, saying that I could’ve said it to them and I’m sure they would’ve accommodated us. Here’s hoping anyway!


I also booked a public bathing experience for two at the Mornington Peninsula Hot Springs for 5 pm, so after a quick lie down and some lunch we made our way towards the Hot Springs which was a further 30 minute drive away. I will go in to more detail on this in another post.


We were hoping to catch the sunset around 5.30pm however it was a very dull day, saying that it did clear up but not completely. We spent about 2 hours there and it was just beautiful. Hotel check out was 10 am this morning, which was an early start so we took complete advantage an explored more of the peninsula including Red Hill, Red Hil Brewery, Flinders and Rosebud.

After some incredible sea side views we made our way back and got in around 4.30 pm. With having the car rental, we decided to do our grocery shop on the way back, which saved us carrying them back home! Ha… it’s the little things isn’t it!


Until next time folks!

SEARCH BY TAGS:

FOLLOW ME ALSO ON:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

POP ME A COMMENT BELOW AND I'LL BE BACK ASAP

bottom of page